Tideswell climbing

Today was another long day at the day job. And it was very hot! My office is so close at the moment that I generally end up with a headache and tight eyes by the end of the day. After I stumbled out of work about 5:00pm, I met the OH and we drove to Tideswell, out in the Peak District. This place is beautiful, and the light was gorgeous. I was resigned to not climbing great, but the scenery was so lovely that it didn’t really matter. Unfortunately, we didn’t have any phone signal, and had no clue as to where to go.

So we set out like intrepid explorers with mats on our back, down the path. We soon came to a fork in the road and with much deliberation decided to take the upper fork, marked ‘quarry’. Soon, a man came down the path towards us and warned us, ‘beware of the calves in yon field; they’re mighty frisky.’ Duly warned, we continued and came upon a beautiful field with a quarry towards the back.

We didn't climb here, but it was beautiful. Photo: CanadiankateA mat with two legs. Photo: Canadiankate

While beautiful, calm and serene. it was not the right place. So, we had a sit down before setting off back down the path whereupon our friend met us and took us to the right spot. Of course, we had to answer the riddle the water vole set us before passing.

A water vole guarding the two paths. Photo: Canadiankate

A water vole guarding the two paths. Photo: Canadiankate

After getting to the crag, putting shoes on, doing a 5+ and starting a 6a, I realised that my shoulder was truly screwed. After getting some thumbs involved, it looked like my rotator cuff was really in a bad way. Obviously, the best thing to do would be stop climbing and just chill. I didn’t do that. I continued to climb, and doing individual moves, getting grumpy and really losing my psyche. So, in the end, I took my shoes off and just watched the others.

It was getting dark by this point. Soon, other people were starting to warm down and get ready to go for curry.

On the way back to the car, I came across a very whimsical stone wall with roses and a bench. If I had found this place earlier, I think I would have just set up with my kindle and enjoyed the beautiful evening.

Roses decorate a stone wall in Tideswell Valley. Photo: Canadiankate

Roses decorate a stone wall in Tideswell Valley. Photo: Canadiankate

