Cooking fudge

I was bored after the Cycle Show in Monday night and decided to make some fudge. I’d come across the salted caramel recipe blogged by The Mrs Makes, and it looked so good! The only problem was that a) I didn’t have any condensed milk and b) I couldn’t find any sea salt flakes (this was annoying because I know that we have some). So after some twitter-ing to The Mrs Makes, who pointed me to a recipe that used milk instead of condensed milk, I set to work.

The process is very simple, and I strongly suggest looking away when measuring the sugar and butter out. Then, its all about the stirring. There’s a lot of stirring in making fudge and luckily, BBC Radio 4 had a really interesting programme on oil and wildlife, which may have distracted me from stirring at times.

After a while, it was time to pour out the fudge into its baking tray and leave it to set. It didn’t look that appetising and I was really worried because the butter had managed to separate and the milk had done weird things too. I think I didn’t stir the mixture enough at the early stages and perhaps needed a lower heat.  The next morning it looked something like this:

Photo: Canadiankate

Photo: Canadiankate

To make this fudge, I combined two recipes by using the ingredients from a recipe by James Martin and the method from The Mrs Makes.

Ingredients:

  • Greaseproof paper
  • 300ml milk
  • 350g caster sugar
  • 100g unsalted butter
  • 1tsp vanilla

Method

Place all the ingredients (only 1tsp of the salt) in a non-stick saucepan  and heat slowly and stirring with a wooden spoon wait for the sugar to dissolve.

Bring to the boil and simmer for 10-15mins and stir continuously to stop burning and sticking.

Once it reaches 118C (or drops as a soft ball into ice cold water) take off the heat and beat until thick, smooth and a lighter colour.

Here add the vanilla if you want!

Spread into a lined tin and leave to cool. Slice into cubes and enjoy.

Here’s the final product. May not look great but it still tastes good enough to send me into a sticky, sugar induced coma!

DSC00740

Photo: Canadiankate

Here are the links for the recipes:-

