Training Tuesday 20.08.2013: HIIT’ing it up two days in a row

I felt that I’d recovered quite well after Monday’s HIIT session and wanted to do something on Tuesday night. I didn’t quite have time to go for a ride, so I decided to try another HIIT session. After learning my lesson about hills on Monday, I found a flat(er) stretch of road to train on. I also upped the ratio between active/recovery segments. This mean I sprinted for 15s and recovered for 20s. In hindsight, I should have probably kept the ratio the same as Monday as I realised that I was pretty screwed right after the first sprint. But I persevered and managed to do the full 8 reps. I also ran back home and only walked for a short period of time when I really thought that I was going to vomit. I was very tired when I got home, and felt like I’d really worked hard. This was what I was after so I was pleased with my performance.

I’m going to keep HIIT in my training, but think it’ll only form 1 session a week. 2 sessions is too much and aggravated my back (again).

What do you guys think? HIIT’ing it up at all? I wonder if it could be used as climbing training?

Some stats:

  • Distance – 4.6 km
  • Time – 25:25
  • Pace – 5:28/km
  • 3rd fastest time – 1 km
  • 3rd fastest time – 400m
  • 2nd fastest time – 1 miles
  • 2nd fastest time –  2 miles

Here’s my pace:

HIIT Pace 20.08.2013

