A short ride in the Peak

Went for a short ride on Monday. I wasn’t feeling that great and the OH hasn’t been on a bike for ages. We ambled into the Peak via a different road than normal that was a steady incline until the top of Higger, and then dropped into Hathersage where it appeared everyone and their dog had stopped for coffee.

Obligatory bike photo. Photo: CanadianKate

Obligatory bike photo. Photo: CanadianKate

I was really cold, and my legs weren’t feeling great. I also wanted to save myself for a HIIT session on Tuesday so I suggested going back via the A57 rather than up Abney. It was at this point that the sun decided to break out and bask the Peak in glorious sunshine. My OH offered an excellent trick for storing unwanted layers when riding: shove them in an empty water bottle!

Trick for when the weather changes. Drink all the water and use as a gilet store. Photo: CanadianKate

Trick for when the weather changes. Drink all the water and use as a gilet store. Photo: CanadianKate

I was a bit apprehensive of going up the A57, as I always thought it would be horrendous. It really isn’t! Granted, I didn’t get any time worth mentioning, but I enjoyed the climb and that’s even against a headwind! This may have been because I was still quite fresh and had a lot in my legs. The nice descent back into Sheffield is really enjoyable as well – at least until the short hill up the Manchester Road. I reckon I can improve my time on it thought!

 Some Stats:

  • Total distance: 36 km
  • Average speed: 21.1 km/h
  • Max speed: 53.6 km/h
  • Average power: 111 w
  • Average HR: 153
  • Cadence: 83 RPM

