A swing and a miss with the work/life balance

I keep saying this, but the last couple of weeks have been really hard. I feel knackered most of the time and have gone through the wringer. On the whole, my climbing hasn’t been affected that much. I’ve had some sessions where I’ve not done much, but still felt like I had achieved something, and I have been pretty frustrated at my limited gains during the summer. However, that’s part and parcel of being a climber.

This week has been different. I’ve been really stressed about a tight deadline for work. It got to the point where I could not switch off my mind at night and was not making sense when in work. Anxiety does strange things, it impairs my ability to form coherent words, limits my ability to think and generally makes it bloody hard to make any progress on anything! Coupled with trying to develop a very different area of my research from what I’ve been working on for the last year, it has been an extremely stressful couple of weeks.

After losing a day to a bug, I was really worried that I’d not be able to complete my work for my deadline. Come Monday night, my brain was already ticking over the different things that I needed to do, and the fundamental issue that I’d no narrative and my theoretical framework was close to non-existent on paper and in a diffuse cloud in my head. I could not fall asleep. I ended up with about 4 hours on Monday night, and 3 hours on Tuesday. This made training on Wednesday really, really hard.

I was emotionally and mentally exhausted and didn’t know what to do. In the end, I did some warm ups trying on new pairs of shoes (when stressed, try shoes). And then worked individual moves on some L2s. I didn’t even try to top anything because I knew that if I failed, I wouldn’t really be able to rationalise it.

In the end, I managed to link some moves on a L2 that I’ve been trying for ages. Unfortunately, I fluffed the next move (a swing and a miss) and then couldn’t get the link again! Super frustrating, but at the same time, it was one move more than last time.

I was then very tired, so did some core work. I also think that I’ll be able to start campusing soon. My finger hasn’t twanged much at all recently!

Instead of the usual post climbing pint, I went for a celebratory meal with a friend who had just submitted their thesis. It showed me there was a light at the end of the tunnel!

Some Stats:

Climbing

  • Warmed up on L1s
  • Worked moves on 3 L2s

Core

  • 3 x A6W series
