20/09/2013 Comfort: blogtember challenge

Friday, September 20: React to this term: comfort.

Friday’s blogtember challenge was to react to ‘comfort’ as a term. Being on holiday has given me time to think of my own comfort level in terms of proximity to my parents, my MIL and also what I need around me to feel comfortable in different situations. I have also had a chance to consider what material and other comforts I miss after being away from home for any period of time. On the whole, these are practical tips for achieving physical comfort when travelling, or during times of stress.

Comfort takes many different forms. In the OED, comfort is defined as ‘a state of physical ease and freedom from pain or constraint’; a ‘prosperity and the pleasant lifestyle secured by it’; or the ‘consolation for grief or anxiety’. [source]

I’ve been on holiday for the last couple of weeks, and on the whole it has been a relaxing and enjoyable time away. However, for a number of different reasons, it has also been hugely stressful and emotionally draining. During these times, I seek physical comfort from my OH, and when at home, from my cats.  As I suffer from insomnia when stressed or upset, physical comfort is hugely relaxing. It reaffirms that I am needed and loved and wanted.

So, when travelling, I take a couple of items which help me prevent insomnia and are really ‘crutches’ to reduce anxiety. These are in the form of an eye mask and ear-plugs. No matter how much I am looking forward to my holiday, I still find travelling stressful. By having an eye mask and ear-plugs with me I know that I should be able to get so sleep no matter how uncomfortable the bed is, or if there are any snoring people nearby. This was hugely important during the holiday as my MIL snores like a trouper. Even with earplugs, it was difficult to fall asleep at times!

For a number of reasons, I really missed my cats this holiday. It was one of the longest times away from home for a while, and the final part of my holiday was hugely stressful. Perhaps it was a case of spending too much time with my family, or the heat of Sicily; but for whatever reason, I really could have done with some unconditional comfort that a cat can give.

There is something so peaceful about curling up with a cat, or having a cat curl up in the small of my back and purr. They always know when I’m upset or feeling ill. Connie has the most comforting purr which resonates through me and she gives this comfort unconditionally, because she loves me. I really missed this when I was away. For a number of different reasons, the final part of my holiday was hugely stressful. Perhaps it was a case of spending too much time with my family, or the heat of Sicily, but for whatever reason, I really could have done with some unconditional comfort that a cat can give.

So, when thinking about comfort, right now it centres on my physical comfort that I gain from interactions with my cats. I think this is because I’ve felt very deprived of cat cuddles over the last couple of weeks or so!

