26/09/2013 posting from a café: blogtember challenge

Thursday, September 26: Go to a coffee shop. Order a favorite drink. Write about what makes you happy and what makes you sad. Or write about anything you’d like! Bonus points for including a photo from the coffee shop.

Today’s blogtember challenge is about a change of place for writing. While I didn’t have my laptop with me when traveling, I did compose a small blog post about an amazing café in EUR (Rome). The OH and I discovered it last time we were in Rome, and wanted to go back again. The breakfast ‘cornettos’ (Italian versions of croissants) are amazing. The coffee is fantastic and the service is so friendly.

I love watching people interact in Italy – they’re so much happier to sit and chat, and enjoy simply being. I wish this was more the case in the UK, but I think that much of it is also the fact that the weather in Italy allows life to proceed slightly slower. I digress, I was talking about the food.

The owner of the café came up and started talking to us. It turned out that she had been to the UK and stayed in Scarborough to improve her English (which was excellent) when younger. She and my MIL chatted for a while, and our breakfast arrived.

While we had simply ordered a ‘lievito’ which was the breakfast break of the day (although it directly translates to ‘yeast’), we ended up with a small sample of zabaglione, some of their little sweets, cappuccino, water and various other things. In the end, we had to use two tables to hold all the different treats and take a doggy bag with us.

The house ‘lievito’ was a beautiful puff pastry (similar to croissant pastry) filled with the most delicious marmalade. After eating one of those, you didn’t really need to eat for the rest of the day! The sweets included profiteroles and delicious mini sponges with chocolate, and tiny fruit tarts. All were excellent.

I will definitely go back to this café next time I’m in Rome. Here are two photos of when the OH and I went last year. They left us to eat our breakfast, drink our coffee and write in the peaceful environs of the café.

 

Photo: CanadianKate

Photo: CanadianKate

Photo: CanadianKate

Photo: CanadianKate

 …and for those of you who want to go there, or are in Rome, here is where it is:

2 thoughts on “26/09/2013 posting from a café: blogtember challenge

  1. Pingback: Bad coffee & good company | Rose Coloured Glasses

Comments are closed.