September Travels – A roundup

This post completes my ‘September Travel’ series. I really enjoyed looking back over photos and writing about what I enjoyed in the different places that I visited.

Looking back, there were some definite highlights:-

Switzerland

Walking around Lake Locarno just after rain had passed through

Photo: CanadianKate

Photo: CanadianKate

Running up the valleys surrounding Arlsheim, Switzerland

Breaking in my new running shoes. Photo: CanadianKate

Breaking in my new running shoes. Photo: CanadianKate

Italy

Finding cats everywhere I went. I know a lot of them were not in good health and generally a nuisance, but it highlighted the differences between Italy and the UK.

Photo: CanadianKate

Photo: CanadianKate

Finding isolated pockets of history away from the crowds in Agrigento.

Valle dei Templi, Agrigento. Photo: CanadianKate

Valle dei Templi, Agrigento. Photo: CanadianKate

Experiencing the chaos that is Naples port.

Fisherman at the Naples docks. Photo: CanadianKate

Fisherman at the Naples docks. Photo: CanadianKate

Wandering around the streets of Sciacca.

Ex Chiesa Di S. Gerlando XIV - XVII Century. Photo: CanadianKate

Ex Chiesa Di S. Gerlando XIV – XVII Century. Photo: CanadianKate

Exploring Segesta and hearing the roar of Ducatis announcing the Ducati Riding club of Trapani and Palermo.

Ducatis at Segesta. Photo: AJTC

Ducatis at Segesta. Photo: AJTC

Feeling at peace in the vineyards around Alcamo.

The farm buildings, Agriturismo Tarantola. Photo: CanadianKate

The farm buildings, Agriturismo Tarantola. Photo: CanadianKate

And finally, walking in the magnificant Zingaro Nature reserve

Photo: AJTC

Photo: AJTC

All in all, my three week break in Italy was full of surprises. I would definitely recommend exploring it by car, as you see so much more than simply flying into one place and staying there. Much of Sicily is difficult to get to without a car and it gives you freedom to move around.

Below, I’ve included links to the complete ‘September Travels’ Series, including the reviews of the two guide books that I used during my trip. I would certainly recommend getting them a couple of weeks before going and looking through them to see what really appeals.

One thought on “September Travels – A roundup

Comments are closed.