Getting back on the 125cc

It was pretty cold on Saturday. I was about get get back on a 125cc motorcycle (a Suzuki SB 125) after a short period away and nervous and excited at the same time. It felt weird. 

The SB125. It is a very dear little bike. Photo: CanadianKate

The OH dropped me off and we left the instructors garage pretty quickly. It had recently rained, the roads were cold and greasy, and I felt very rusty. I vaguely remembered how to change gear, and that this bike had a tendency to knock into neutral. The brake and clutch levers felt very stretched with my tiny hands, but I soon got used to having to three-finger drag the brakes.

The cockpit. A bit basic. Photo: CanadianKate

After an almost incident on a roundabout (I may have gone in too hot), I started to calm down and focus on observations, road positioning and the other elements of riding a bike. The mechanics of shifting between gears, dragging the brake and clutch came back within the hour.

Me. Being artistic. Photo: CanadianKate

It was a pretty long lesson. In the UK, it seems to be the done thing to have an all-day lesson so I was out for about 6 hours. I can’t really remember everything about that time, so here’s some highlights:

  • Hail
  • Rain
  • Numb fingers and toes
  • Hot chocolate
  • A runny nose
  • Letting the back end drift on a roundabout
  • Getting the 125 up to 55 miles an hour on an unrestricted road (woot)
