Playing on Murples at the Climbing Works

After a pretty good climbing session on the Comp Wall at the Works, I decided to try the Murple set. These were set for the Youth comp to become part of the British Bouldering Team, and as a result had a range from 4+ – 7b+. I really, really like this set! There are some that are totally and absolutely nails, but there are some that are really friendly.

The best thing about them is they have really considered footholds and foot placement without appearing to have made the problems any easier. This means that I can practice using holds that I find very difficult to use but have relatively secure feet. I find this really fun. As a result, I’ve got to actually hold and move off of some Murple holds that I’ve not actually used before and also not feel like I’m going to die.

I got around 18 of the problems in this session and topped most of them. There were some that I had played on in the previous session, and some that were totally new. I can’t wait to finish the circuit before they take it down.

Some stats:

  • Topped lots of problems
  • Started to enjoy bouldering again
  • Got to use new (for me) holds
  • Had fun

