A New Year, a New Challenge: Janathon 2014

I had a rest from any form of blogging challenge in December. It was a busy one and I was happy to focus on integrating running into my training schedule. Now it’s a new year, and I need a new challenge to take my mind off the fact that a) I need to go back to work, b) I’m getting older, and c) it is dark, rainy and generally quite miserable in Sheffield. Enter the Janathon 2014 challenge.

The basic premise of Janathon is quite straightforward. I need to run or do some form of exercise everyday and blog/tweet about it. As I already do that, it shouldn’t be too difficult and I intend to use it to integrate at least 2 running sessions a week into my training schedule.

I started Janathon pretty damn well. My first run was with a friend and we ran through mud, huge puddles and in the dark. I loved pretty much every minute of it! Sheffield has been under a perpetual rain cloud for the last couple of days and as a result the rivers are very high. My friend and I met up and ran beside the Rivelin River. It was noticeably high and this made the run very atmospheric. We were running with headtorches and the river was so swollen that it had started to flood parts of the trail. I gave up trying to keep my shoes clean and ended up absolutely soaked to the skin and pretty much covered in mud from the knees down.

In the end I ran just under 13 km. I had originally intended to run about 8 km, but because the pace was so low and easy-going, I was happy to go farther.

Some Stats:

  • Distance – 12.5 km
  • Time – 1:29:40
  • Average pace – 7:12 min/km
  • Elevation gain – 264 m

Year-to-date

  • Distance – 12.5 km
  • Time – 1:29:40
  • Average pace – 7:12 min/km
  • Elevation gain- 264 m
  • Runs – 1
