Janathon Day 4: Starting my 10k training program

Today I started my training program to get up to running 10 km again. I’m not planning to do any races, but I figured it would be a good way to get my baseline fitness back up again in time for getting back on the bike. I know, I should really be on the bike as the different forms of cardio energy aren’t that transferable, but the weather here in Sheffield is miserable and I’m not that much of a die-hard cycling enthusiast to go out in all weathers.

My training program started with running intervals. I am using Garmin’s Level 1 10 km program, which includes 3 workouts per week. It starts at a very low level, and because of this, I’m tweaking it a bit. The first training session is as follows:

• Run easy, Z2, 5 minutes. Walk, Z2, 5 minutes. Repeat 2 times. • Cool down, 5-10 minutes. • Stretch.

I tweaked this a bit. Firstly because the first set of intervals was my warm up and my heart rate was all over the place, and secondly because my base-line fitness is greater than a beginner/starter runner but I don’t have as much time to give as required in the Level 2 programmes. I ran 1 set of intervals as my warm up, and then did the suggested training session. While keeping in Zone 2 heart rate, I ran towards the higher end of Z2 for the first interval and then slowed right down and kept to a shuffle for the ‘walking’ interval. This was because if I did walk, my heart rate went down to Z1 and I was getting cold.

I found I could keep in z2, but I felt very silly doing so. My fitness is so poor at the moment that I was pretty much reduced to shuffling up hills and when in ‘recovery’ interval, going at a snails pace. In fact, it was so slow that my Garmin cycle computer thought I was stationary so the timing of my intervals was probably off a bit.

I’d like to think I looked like Jessica Ennis in the Olympics:

Jessica Ennis at the London Olympics 2012. Source: flemings-mayfair.co.uk

Jessica Ennis displaying a lovely long stride and looking beautifully at ease.

When in reality, I probably looked more like this:

Running blog: how was your weekend running? Source: guardian.co.uk

Two women running with less aplomb, in the winter and with more of a shuffly gait.

Some stats:

  • Distance  – 3.7 km
  • Time – 27:45
  • Pace – 7:32 min/km
  • Elevation gain – 73m

Year-to-Date

  • Distance – 16.1 km
  • Time – 1:57:00
  • Elevation gain – 337m
  • Runs – 2
3 thoughts on “Janathon Day 4: Starting my 10k training program

Comments are closed.