Janathon Day 9: A wet and windy interval training session

 I managed to time my training run perfectly with a rain squall on Thursday. After doing some work (I just love deadlines), I looked up and saw the ominous clouds were looking more ominous. I stopped work, quickly got changed and started out just as the first drops began to fall. The rain didn’t let up the whole run and actually got heavier towards the end. I looked rather like a drowned rat when I finished.

I didn’t think my training session was too bad. I felt light on my feet, my left calf and Achilles were okay(ish) and I felt like I had sorted out a good distance eating pace towards the end of it. Unfortunately, I had set up my HR zones incorrectly on my Garmin so everything that I have been doing since the 1st of January is in zone 3/2 rather than all in zone 2. Hopefully this hasn’t scuppered things too much.

I found it quite hard to keep my heart rate down. I was really glad that I included the 5 minute warm-up as my heart rate went super high (191 bpm) and was all over the place. I had had a coffee just before leaving, so I wonder if that has a greater effect on my heart rate than I gave it credit for. It did settle down eventually, but it seemed more susceptible to skipping and jumping between different HR zones.

I’ve also noticed that I’m getting very different results between Strava and Garmin Connect. According to Strava, I clocked in a 5.6 km run, whereas Garmin Connect only registered 4.85 km. Does anyone know why this may be? I posit that it might have something to do with the fact that I’ve got the cycling computer on my wrist, so it’s clocking more mileage as my arms are swinging? This doesn’t stand up because Garmin also do wrist GPS and I don’t think they have this problem. Also, the discrepancy is at the logging end rather than the recording end. It remains a mystery.

Some stats:

  • Distance – 5.6 km (Strava); 4.85 (Garmin)
  • Time – 36:35
  • (Average moving) Pace – 6:35 min/km; 7:06 min/km (Garmin)
  • Elevation gain – 96 m

Year-to-date

  • Distance 26.2 km
  • Time – 3:07:00
  • Elevation gain – 523 m
  • Runs – 4

 

