Janathon day 11: Interval training around EUR, Rome

I was up relatively early. It was sunny and warm (well for a Canadian) in Rome and I wanted to be out! After having a glass of freshly squeezed orange juice, I put my shoes on and trotted down the stairs into the great outdoors. Did I say it was sunny?

I followed the same path as before, and as I was doing an interval session, I started fairly slowly and tried to keep my HR down. This was easier to maintain because I hadn’t had any coffee yet. (My brother doesn’t have any in his house – how can he have 2 small kids and no coffee?! It doesn’t make sense!) I started around the lake, and the first set of intervals saw me well within HR zone 2. I received many odd looks because I was in shorts and a T-Shirt. Also, I was checking my cycle computer every 2 minutes as well.

Eventually I ran out of lake, and set off up the small incline into a different part of EUR. I ran past a police station, dodged traffic and people and generally received odd looks. It’s so much harder to maintain z2 when going up even the shallowest incline. I was really shuffling this time.

It is so nice to run in the warmth and sunshine. I regretted not bringing my sunglasses.

My results seem much better too. There isn’t the totally scattered GPS points like there were last night. Both Garmin and Strava seem to agree on the distance that I ran as well.

Some stats:

  • Distance – 4.6 km (Strava)
  • Time – 34:31
  • Elevation gain – 30 m
  • Pace – 7:28 min/km

Year-to-date

  • Distance – 37.7 km
  • Time – 4:17:00
  • Elevation gain – 602 m
  • Runs – 6

