Janathon Day 13: Interval Training in the Wet

After the (relative) heat of Rome, I returned home to Sheffield in the rain with the sun setting over the hills. I was quite glad to be home – there’s something about sleeping in my own bed with my cats that makes me happy. Anyway, I’m determined to stick to my  training program – by Monday I was already on week 2, day 4. So, even though it was dank and miserable outside, I pulled on my running shoes and set out to do some intervals.

The aim of Monday’s session was:

• Walk, Z2, 5 minutes. Run easy, Z2, 10 minutes. Repeat 2 times. • Cool down, 5-10 minutes. • Stretch. [source]

I slightly tinkered with it and decided to repeat the intervals 3 times. I decided to do a bit of exploring around my area as well. Shaking up the training runs means I won’t get bored and I’ll cover a greater range of hills, flats and downhills. This worked out well, and I covered a fair amount of distance, while also being more diverting. The shape of my run also looked remarkably like a chef taking a bow.

I felt really good on Monday, my heart rate stayed where it ought to and I felt like my niggles had started to go away. In the end I ran 6.42 km in 51 minutes, with an average pace of 7:58 min/km.

Some stats:

  • Distance – 6.42 km
  • Time – 51.07
  • Elevation gain – 146 m
  • Pace – 7:58 min/km

Year-to-date

  • Distance – 44.1 km
  • Time – 5:07:00
  • Elevation gain – 579 m
  • Runs – 7

